New York Philharmonic: What's New: Latest News and Stories About The New York Philharmonic

The New York Philharmonic

Update Browser

Pages don't look right?

You are using a browser that does not support the technology used on our website.

Please select a different browser or use your phone or tablet to access our site.

Download: Firefox | Chrome | Safari

If you're using Internet Explorer, please update to the latest version.

New York Philharmonic Musicians To Give Free Concert for Those with Dementia and Their Caregivers

New York Philharmonic violist Vivek Kamath, flutist Yoobin Son, and Principal Harp Nancy Allen will perform Debussy’s Trio for Flute, Viola, and Harp as part of Lincoln Center Moments, a free program specially designed for individuals with dementia and their caregivers.

The performance will take place Monday, April 9, 2018, at 1:00 p.m. at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse. It will be followed by a one-hour discussion, movement, and art-making workshop for participants to reflect upon their experience.

New York Philharmonic Teaching Artists will also appear in a Lincoln Center Moments performance on Monday, May 14 at 1:00 p.m. at the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse.

These programs are presented by Lincoln Center in collaboration with the New York Philharmonic.

(Photos: Chris Lee)

‘Leveling the Playing Field’: A Philharmonic Schools Teacher Reflects

March has been designated Music In Our Schools Month® (MIOSM®) by the National Association for Music Education (NAfME). It’s the time of year when music education becomes the focus of schools across the nation. In honor of Music In Our Schools Month, here is a reflection by teacher Caroline Cregan, of P.S. 120 in Queens, about her experience with the New York Philharmonic’s Philharmonic Schools program.

Dear Mr. Zerna,
That was a great concert and you did a very great job and I want to say thank you. I thank you for trying your best. Is percussion your favorite type of instrument? Also, do you like going home? I do. And did you feel shy when you were on stage? I would.

When my students were given the opportunity to write letters to members of the Philharmonic, they were amazed. “You mean they’ll actually read MY letter?” The sense of excitement was palpable that day in the classroom.

Asking students to write to members of the Orchestra sends the message that they have important ideas to share. It gives them a sense of power and implies that what they have to say matters.

These are the same performers that they watched just days before, slack-jawed and with wide eyes, at David Geffen Hall, which seats almost 3,000 people.

Starting a dialogue gives them a way to share their voice. Now, the performers from the stage just became real. It allows them to dream, ask questions, and, just maybe, nurture the idea that they too might become musicians one day. We give them an opportunity to share connections, hopes, and fears on the page.

My class is comprised of 12 students with disabilities. Often, tasks are harder for these children. Directly or indirectly, they have received the message countless times that they are struggling students. That means they have to work harder at things that come more easily to other students.

But music levels the playing field. There are no wrong answers. Seeing the look on my students’ faces when they realize that it’s time for the Philharmonic is priceless. The program has not only provided them with the vocabulary to speak confidently about music; it has also bridged that gap between the classroom and the stage.

If you’re interested in Philharmonic Schools or are interested in becoming a Partner School click here.

(Photos Courtesy of Caroline Cregan)

PHOTOS: ASIA 2018 Tour Concludes in Taipei

Music Director Designate Jaap van Zweden and the New York Philharmonic were triumphant in back-to-back performances in Taipei, the last city on the ASIA 2018 tour. Pianist Yuja Wang joined the Orchestra for landmark concertos by Brahms and Prokofiev, and the Maestro led the Orchestra in symphonic masterworks by Stravinsky and Mahler.

PHOTOS: ASIA 2018 Tour Continues in Japan

Jaap van Zweden and the New York Philharmonic traveled to Japan for four concerts in three cities — Kyoto, Tokyo, and Nagoya. In addition to concerts with pianist Yuja Wang and violinist Ryu Goto, featuring works by Brahms, Mendelssohn, Stravinsky, and J. Wagenaar, the Music Director Designate and Orchestra were joined by Philharmonic Patrons and members of the International Advisory Board.

Frank Huang To Receive Cleveland Institute of Music Distinguished Alumni Award

Concertmaster Frank Huang will be honored with the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Cleveland Institute of Music (CIM), where he earned his bachelor of music degree in 2002 studying with Donald Weilerstein. The award honors alumni who have attained the highest stature in their field. He will address the Class of 2018, students, and community members at Honors Convocation, which will take place on Friday, May 18 at 4:00 PM. It will be livestreamed.

“We are so pleased to recognize Frank Huang with the Distinguished Alumni Award,” said Paul W. Hogle, President & CEO of CIM. “He is an incredibly accomplished violinist who exemplifies the dedication to chamber music and orchestral performance for which so many of CIM’s graduates are known. I look forward to his remarks at Honors Convocation, where he’ll share his advice and perspective.”

(Photo: Chris Lee)

VIDEO: “Ride of the Valkyries” in Beijing

Music Director Designate Jaap van Zweden and the Orchestra rehearse the rousing “Ride of the Valkyries” from Wagner’s Die Walküre in Beijing’s picturesque National Centre for the Performing Arts — which opened in 2007 and is colloquially known as The Giant Egg — as a possible encore that evening. It’s a good thing, too: the audience demanded more and were treated to this! The March 8 and 9 concerts, presented by China Merchants Bank, opened the Philharmonic’s ASIA 2018 tour.

(Video: Chris Lee)

PHOTOS: ASIA 2018 Tour Begins in Beijing

The New York Philharmonic’s ten-day, five-city ASIA 2018 tour — Music Director Designate Jaap van Zweden’s first international tour with the Orchestra — has begun in Beijing. After a day atop the Great Wall, the Orchestra performed two concerts presented by China Merchants Bank, featuring pianist Yuja Wang, violinist Ryu Goto, and orchestral masterworks by Mahler and Stravinsky.
Go to top