The New York Philharmonic

Update Browser

Pages don't look right?

You are using a browser that does not support the technology used on our website.

Please select a different browser or use your phone or tablet to access our site.

Download: Firefox | Chrome | Safari | Microsoft Edge

Note that Internet Explorer is no longer supported as of June 15, 2022.

PHOTOS: The Tour Starts in Seoul

More than 6,000 miles from home, Music Director Alan Gilbert and the Philharmonic launch the ten-concert, six-city ASIA / WINTER 2014 tour with a concert and educational partnership in Seoul, South Korea. 

Orchestra Makes Snowy Departure for Asia Tour

leaving for tour 

Today's snowstorm didn't stop the Orchestra from departing on the ASIA / WINTER 2014 tour.

At 10 a.m., violinist Yoko Takebe (in pink scarf), and the rest of the musicians, plus many staff members, exited the Avery Fisher Hall stage door, on West 65th Street, and got onto buses taking them to JFK for the flight to Seoul.

You can start following their doings on and off stage on Friday, when we post the first installment of the Virtual Tour. See you then.

ASIA / WINTER 2014 Tour Announced

Music Director Alan Gilbert will lead the New York Philharmonic on the ASIA / WINTER 2014 tour, February 6–19, 2014.

The two-week tour — the Philharmonic’s seventh international concert tour under Alan Gilbert’s leadership — will feature ten concerts in three countries, with performances in Seoul, South Korea; Nagoya, Osaka, Tokyo, and Yokohama, Japan; and Taipei, Taiwan. (See and the full press release below for full details.)

Guest soloists include pianist Yefim Bronfman, the Philharmonic’s Mary and James G. Wallach Artist-in-Residence, and violinist Lisa Batiashvili, both of whom perform with the Orchestra in Tokyo and Taipei, as well as pianists Da Sol, who appears in Seoul, and Makoto Ozone, in Seoul, Osaka, Tokyo, and Yokohama.

The tour also features five performances of Marie-Josée Kravis Composer-in-Residence Christopher Rouse’s Rapture and two performances of former Composer-in-Residence Magnus Lindberg’s Piano Concerto No. 2, commissioned and premiered by the New York Philharmonic, with Mr. Bronfman as soloist.

Read the full release.

Read the full press release in Mandarin.

Read the full press release in Korean.

Read the full press release in Japanese.