Meet the EarShot Composers Selected for NY PHIL BIENNIAL Readings | What's New: Latest News and Stories About The New York Philharmonic

The New York Philharmonic

Update Browser

Pages don't look right?

You are using a browser that does not support the technology used on our website.

Please select a different browser or use your phone or tablet to access our site.

Download: Firefox | Chrome | Safari

If you're using Internet Explorer, please update to the latest version.

Meet the EarShot Composers Selected for NY PHIL BIENNIAL Readings

Posted May 15, 2014

As part of the NY PHIL BIENNIAL, works by six emerging composers — Julia Adolphe, William Dougherty, Max Grafe, Jesse Jones, Wang Lu, and Andrew McManus — were chosen from an open call for scores facilitated by American Composers Orchestra’s EarShot National Orchestral Composition Discovery Network. The Philharmonic will perform the six works in a private reading session, and three of those will be premiered during the biennial: one work on June 5 and the second on June 7 will be conducted by Music Director Alan Gilbert, and the third will be conducted by Matthias Pintscher June 6. 

The six were chosen from 400+ submissions from seven countries and 39 states. The oldest applicant: 84. The youngest: 9.

Want to hear these pieces? Stay tuned June 3 when the three composers are announced: then you’ll know which composer will be featured on which concert and can buy your tickets for those concerts. Want to hear all three World Premieres? Buy tickets for all three concerts June 5–7!