Mary Kouyoumdjian

Mary Kouyoumdjian is a composer with projects ranging from concert works to multimedia collaborations and film scores. As a first generation Armenian-American and having come from a family directly affected by the Lebanese Civil War and Armenian Genocide, she uses a sonic palette that draws on her heritage, interest in music as documentary, and background in experimental composition to progressively blend the old with the new. She has received commissions from the Kronos Quartet, Carnegie Hall, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Alarm Will Sound, Roomful of Teeth, OPERA America, Beth Morrison Projects, the American Composers Forum / JFund, International Contemporary Ensemble [ICE], Brooklyn Youth Chorus, REDSHIFT, the Nouveau Classical Project, Music of Remembrance, Friction Quartet, Experiments in Opera, and Ensemble Oktoplus. Her documentary work was presented in the 2016 NYPHIL BIENNIAL, and her residencies include Alarm Will Sound, Roulette / The Jerome Fund, Montalvo Arts, and Exploring the Metropolis. Ms. Kouyoumdjian is pursuing her doctor of musical arts degree in composition at Columbia University, holds a masters of arts in scoring for film and multimedia from New York University, and a bachelors of arts in music composition from UC San Diego. Mary Kouyoumdjian works as an educator, is a co-founder of the annual new music conference New Music Gathering, and is the artistic director of Alaska’s new music festival Wild Shore New Music.

Upcoming 2019-2020 Performances

Location: (Directions)
Price Range:

No Concerts


Purchase 3 or more eligible concerts & save.

About Create Your Own Series:

Pick three (or more) concerts and and enjoy exclusive Subscriber Benefits including unlimited free ticket exchange. Ideal for concertgoers who want the ultimate in flexibility and the benefits of being a subscriber.

Subscriber Benefits:

  • Free, easy ticket exchange (available online or by phone)
  • Save on subscription concerts all year long
  • Priority notice on special events

How it Works:

  1. Look for the Create Your Own Series icon CYO eligible icon next to a concert and add it to your cart.
  2. Simply follow the directions in the shopping cart and enter promo code CREATE3 at check out.

Explore More Musicians of the Orchestra