The New York Philharmonic

Update Browser

Pages don't look right?

You are using a browser that does not support the technology used on our website.

Please select a different browser or use your phone or tablet to access our site.

Download: Firefox | Chrome | Safari

If you're using Internet Explorer, please update to the latest version.

Christopher Rouse

Christopher Rouse is one of America's most prominent composers of orchestral music. Winner of the 1993 Pulitzer Prize in Music for his Trombone Concerto (commissioned and premiered by the New York Philharmonic), he has created a body of work perhaps unequalled in its emotional intensity. The New York Times has described his oeuvre as "some of the most anguished, most memorable music around," and Stephen Wigler of The Baltimore Sun stated: "When the music history of the late 20th century is written, I suspect the explosive and passionate music of Rouse will loom large."

Born in Baltimore in 1949, Christopher Rouse developed an early interest in both classical and popular music. He graduated from Oberlin Conservatory and Cornell University, numbering among his principal teachers George Crumb and Karel Husa. He taught composition at the Eastman School of Music for two decades and currently teaches composition at The Juilliard School.

Mr. Rouse's music has been performed by almost every major orchestra in the United States and by numerous ensembles abroad, including the Berlin Philharmonic, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Sydney and Melbourne Symphony Orchestras, and the Austrian Radio Orchestra. Recent highlights include the world premieres of the Requiem (2007, by the Los Angeles Master Chorale), Concerto for Orchestra (2008, by the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music), Oboe Concerto (2009, by the Minnesota Orchestra), and Odna Zhizn (2010, by the New York Philharmonic). His Symphony No. 3 was premiered by the Saint Louis Symphony in May 2011. Mr. Rouse wrote Seeing for Piano and Orchestra for Emanuel Ax on commission from the Philharmonic, which gave its premiere in May 1999. Christopher Rouse's works are published by Boosey & Hawkes.

Go to top